Photo by: Andy Wilhelm
2011-12 Athletes of the Year (Back L to R: Nick Korth, Alex Henley, Emily Adamczyk, Adam Rice, Ryan Goodbrand, David Morton, Roxanne Brunsting, Ka Wai Ng. Front L to R: Camille Gaito, Sarah McTigue, Sarah Lizotte, Danny Susdorf, Jacqueline Rose, Daisy Feder, Chelsea Carlisle, Kris Lesovsky.)
Successful 2011-12 Campaign Culminates With 44th Annual Athletics Recognition Night
Release: Friday 06/08/2012 

LA JOLLA, Calif. - Another successful year at the NCAA Division II level was celebrated Thursday as the UC San Diego Athletics Department held the 44th Annual Athletics Recognition Night at the Price Center's West Ballroom on campus.

With a capacity crowd of well over 600, the event honored Triton student-athletes for their athletic achievements, excellence in the classroom and outstanding community service efforts. The end of the year banquet also recognized coaches, staff, donors and alumni.

Fifteen of UCSD's 23 teams qualified for NCAA postseason competition in 2011-12, with the softball and men's swimming squads finishing second nationally and women's swimming placing third. UC San Diego won a total of nine conference regular season or tournament championships and seven coaches garnered league or region coach of the year accolades. UCSD finished seventh nationally in the 2011-12 Learfield Sports Director's Cup standings.

Led by the evening's emcee, Senior Associate Athletics Director Ken Grosse, the athletics department honored 43 All-Americans, as well as 119 all-conference selections and 71 four-year letterwinners, from the 2011-12 campaign.

Several other awards were bestowed by representatives of the athletics department or individuals from other areas on campus. Director of Athletics Earl W. Edwards presented the Athlete of the Year awards, Faculty Athletic Representative Cliff Kubiak introduced the Chancellor's Scholar-Athlete recipients and former Tritons Audrey Sung Calzada (cross country/track and field, '03) and Bryan Swatt (tennis, '05) presented the Outstanding Senior Student-Athlete honorees.

NCAA National Champion Emily Adamczyk (swimming and diving) and 15 others were honored as Athletes of the Year. Five teams, including baseball, women's basketball, softball, men's swimming and diving and women's swimming and diving, had two student-athletes recognized as Athletes of the Year.

Softball pitcher Camille Gaito and Nick Howe of the track and field team were named the two Outstanding Senior Student-Athletes for 2011-12. The award is given to one male and one female graduating senior who not only found success athletically, but also in the classroom and in the community.

Patti Gerckens took home the Excellence in Coaching Award for the second-straight year after leading the softball team to the title game at the NCAA Championship.

For the fourth consecutive year, women's soccer was honored with the Leon T. Roach Spirit Award, given to the team that demonstrates the greatest spirit and support of fellow UCSD athletic programs, as well as department, campus and community service. 

Women's soccer also took home the Team GPA Award with an average cumulative grade point average of 3.29.

Senior soccer player Anne Wethe won the Husar Family/Triton Athletic Associates Award for her leadership skills and commitment to campus and community service.


2011-12 Athletics Recognition Night Award Recipients

Outstanding Senior Student-Athletes
Camille Gaito, Softball
Nick Howe, Track and Field

Athletes of the Year
Emily Adamczyk, Swimming and Diving
Roxanne Brunsting, Volleyball
Chelsea Carlisle, Basketball
Daisy Feder, Basketball
Camille Gaito, Softball
Ryan Goodbrand, Baseball
Alex Henley, Swimming and Diving
Nick Korth, Swimming and Diving
Kris Lesovsky, Softball
Sarah Lizotte, Water Polo
Sarah McTigue, Soccer
David Morton, Water Polo
Ka Wai Ng, Track and Field
Adam Rice, Swimming and Diving
Jacqueline Rose, Track and Field 
Danny Susdorf, Baseball

National Champions 
Emily Adamczyk, Swimming and Diving

Chancellor's Scholar-Athlete Award 
Kelsey Quigley, Swimming and Diving
John Svet, Cross Country/Track and Field
Elias Tuma, Baseball
Kathryn Turner, Cross Country/Track and Field
Ellen Umeda, Crew
Austin West, Tennis

Excellence in Coaching Award 
Patti Gerckens, Softball

Husar Family/TAA Award (Leadership/Campus and Community Service)
Anne Wethe, Soccer

Leon T. Roach Team Spirit Award
Women's Soccer

Team GPA Award
Women's Soccer

Distinguished Alumni Athlete
David Siegel, Baseball '97

Meritorious Service Award
Bill Cohn

- -

Diversity and Inclusion