Photo by: UCSD
Senior Max Jiganti earned wins in the main draw of both singles and doubles.
Fall Season Closes at 57th Annual So Cal Intercollegiate Championships
Release: Sunday 11/03/2013 

LOS ANGELES - Completing its fall competition slate, the UC San Diego men's tennis team took part in the 57th Annual Southern California Intercollegiate Championships, hosted by UCLA at the Los Angeles Tennis Center Oct. 30-Nov. 3.

Senior Max Jiganti posted solid results for UCSD, winning matches in the main draw of both singles and doubles.

In the singles round of 32, Jiganti won a hard-fought, three-set match against UCLA's Ryoto Tachi. He took the first set, 6-3, but lost the second by the same score. Jiganti came back and battled for a 7-5 victory in the deciding set to take the match.

Jiganti moved on to the round of 16, where he met up with Juan Canales of BYU and fell in straight sets, 6-4 and 6-3.

In doubles play, Jiganti paired up with junior Kona Luu. In the round of 16, the duo edged Sebastian Bustamente and Robin Kiyabu of Loyola Marymount, 8-7. Jiganti and Luu held a 5-0 lead over UCLA's Mackie McDonald and Karue Sell, but ended up losing by a score of 8-6.

McDonald and Sell went on to win the doubles championship.

Sophomore Horea Porutiu defeated Azusa Pacific's Pascal Engel, 6-3 and 6-1, in the singles qualifying round of 32. Also earning a win for the Tritons was the doubles team of Rajeev Herekar and Devon Sousa, which topped BYU's Sterling Galli and Nikki Rae, 8-3, in the consolation draw.

UCLA's Clay Thompson won the singles title.

The Southern California Intercollegiate Championships is an annual invitational event for players who attend four-year colleges and universities.

UCSD returns to competition on Feb. 1, 2014, at the University of San Diego. For a complete season schedule, click here.

57th Annual Southern California Intercollegiate Championships
Oct. 30-Nov. 3, 2013
Los Angeles Tennis Center

Singles Main Draw - Round of 32
Jan Meyer (Azusa Pacifc) def. Rajeev Herekar (UCSD) 6-2, 6-4
Ziad Sultan (UC Santa Barbara) def. Horea Porutiu (UCSD) 6-3, 6-0
Max Jiganti (UCSD) def. Ryoto Tachi (UCLA) 6-3, 3-6, 7-5

Singles Main Draw - Round of 16
Juan Canales (BYU) def. Max Jiganti (UCSD) 6-4, 6-3

Singles Consolation
Seth Stolar (UCLA) def. Rajeev Herekar (UCSD) 6-3, 6-2
Jan Guler (Concordia) def. Horea Porutiu (UCSD) 6-1, 4-6, 10-7

Singles Qualifying Round of 32
Ganesh Alagappan (UCSD) BYE
Sebastian Bustamente (Loyola Marymount) def. Kona Luu (UCSD) 6-2, 6-0
Horea Porutiu (UCSD) def. Pascal Engel (Azusa Pacific) 6-3, 6-1
Devon Sousa (UCSD) BYE

Singles Qualifying Round of 16
Devin Barber (Cal Poly) def. Ganesh Alagappan (UCSD) 3-6, 6-4, 6-4
Justin Agbayani (UC Irvine) def. Horea Porutiu (UCSD) 6-2, 6-3
Sterling Galli (BYU) def. Devon Sousa (UCSD) 6-1, 6-2

Singles Qualifying Consolation
Gary Yam (Azusa Pacific) def. Ganesh Alagappan (UCSD) 6-3, 6-2
Pascal Engel (Azusa Pacific) def. Kona Luu (UCSD) 6-4, 6-2
Hayden Hensley (Concordia) def. Devon Sousa (UCSD) 6-1, 2-6, 7-5

Doubles Main Draw - Round of 16
Devin Barber/Corey Pang (Cal Poly) def. Ganesh Alagappan/Horea Porutiu (UCSD) 8-7
Joe DiGiulio/Ryoto Tachi (UCLA) def. Rajeev Herekar/Devon Sousa (UCSD) 8-4
Max Jiganti/Kona Luu (UCSD) def. Sebastian Bustamente/Robin Kiyabu (Loyola Marymount) 8-7

Doubles Main Draw - Quarterfinals
Mackie McDonald/Karue Sell (UCLA) def. Max Jiganti/Kona Luu (UCSD) 8-6

Doubles Consolation
Jeremy Bourgeois/Juan Canales (BYU) def. Ganesh Alagappan/Horea Porutiu (UCSD) 8-1
Rajeev Herekar/Devon Sousa (UCSD) def. Sterling Galli/Nikki Rae (BYU) 8-3

Doubles Qualifying
Sasha Gryaznov/Ziad Sultan (UC Santa Barbara) def. Rajeev Herekar/Devon Sousa (UCSD) 8-4
Joe DiGiulio/Ryoto Tachi (UCLA) def. Ganesh Alagappan/Horea Porutiu (UCSD) 8-2


Diversity and Inclusion