Photo by: Jimmy Gekas/Sideline Studios
David Morton earned All-WWPA Second Team honors for his work this year in goal. He registered 225 saves.
UC San Diego Quartet Earns All-WWPA Honors
Release: Saturday 11/20/2010 
LOS ANGELES, Calif. - The 11th-ranked UC San Diego men's water polo team had four individuals earn All-Western Water Polo Association honors, it was announced last week in a vote by the league's 13 coaches.

Brian Donohoe earned first-team honors, while Ryan Allred and David Morton were selected to the All-WWPA second-team. Dane Sequeira was named to the WWPA All-Freshman team.

27 student-athletes were honored for their performance in the pool this 2010 season. Loyola Marymount senior Ikaiki Aki was named WWPA Player of the Year while also earning First Team honors. Whittier freshman Erick Gonzalez won 2010 Newcomer of the Year. Steve Doten of UC Davis and John Loughran of Loyola Marymount were named Co-Coaches of the Year.

Two of Aki's teammates also made All-WWPA First Team- senior Andy Stevens and junior Edgaras Asajavicius. UC Davis placed two players on the First Team in Carlos Martinez and Aaron Salit while Stephen Hobbs of Santa Clara and Donohoe remained their squad's lone representatives on the WWPA's top squad.

In addition to Allred and Morton, second-team All-WWPA honors went to SCU junior James Case, Claremont junior Brian Chong, Air Force senior Robert Geiger, Pomona-Pitzer senior Ben Hadley and Redlands senior Brendan Meaney.

Finally, earning WWPA All-Freshman Team honors were Sequeira of UCSD, Tucker Carlson of SCU, Jarrod Gaut of Pomona-Pitzer, Gonzalez of Whittier, Teddy Nicholson of UC Davis and Joshua Stedman of Air Force.

UCSD recently took fourth place at the WWPA Championships at Santa Clara University, falling to the Broncos, 7-6, in the third place match.

2010 Western Water Polo Association Men's Water Polo Honors
Player of the Year: Ikaika Aki - LMU (Sr., UTL)
Newcomer of the Year: Erick Gonzalez - Whittier (Fr., ATT)
Co-Coach of the Year: Steve Doten - UC Davis; John Loughran - LMU

First-Team All-WWPA
Ikaika Aki - LMU (Sr., UTL)
Edgaras Asajavicius - LMU (Jr., UTL-L)
Brian Donohoe - UC San Diego (So., 2MD)
Stephen Hobbs - Santa Clara (Sr., 2M)
Carlos Martinez - UC Davis (Sr., UTL)
Aaron Salit - UC Davis (Jr., CTR)
Andy Stevens - LMU (Sr., GK)

Second-Team All-WWPA
Ryan Allred - UC San Diego (Sr., DR)
James Case - Santa Clara (Jr., DR)
Brian Chong - Claremont (Jr., DR)
Robert Geiger - Air Force (Sr., DR)
Ben Hadley - Pomona-Pitzer (Sr., ATT)
Brendan Meaney - Redlands (Sr., CTR)
David Morton - UC San Diego (Jr., GK)

Honorable Mention All-WWPA
Ryan Balikian - Pomona-Pitzer (Sr., UTL)
Rilesh Desai - Whittier (Sr., UTL)
Colin Hicks - UC Davis (So., ATT)
Kurt Lemmen - Air Force (Sr., 2MD)
Chase Parlee - Chapman (Sr., DR)
Daniel Smith - LMU (Sr., 2MD)
Michael Wishart - Santa Clara (Jr., GK)

WWPA All-Freshman Team
Tucker Carlson - Santa Clara (2M)
Jarrod Gaut - Pomona-Pitzer (CTR)
Erick Gonzalez - Whittier (ATT)
Teddy Nicholson - UC Davis (CTR)
Dane Sequeira - UC San Diego (DR)
Joshua Stedman - Air Force (DR)
No goalie nominated.

Diversity and Inclusion