Photo by: UCSD
Graham Saber and the Tritons earned a No. 2 seed for the WWPA Championships this week at UCSD.
Host UCSD Earns No. 2 Seed for WWPA Championships
Release: Monday 11/14/2011 
Courtesy of 

LOS ANGELES, Calif. - The seedings and match-ups are all set for the 2011 Western Water Polo Association Men's Water Polo Championships held at Canyonvivew Aquatic Center.

This year's championship has been extended an extra day, with the four-day tournament beginning on Thursday, Nov. 17 and running through Sunday, Nov. 20 with the title game taking place at 2 p.m.

Loyola Marymount University has earned the top seed thanks to a 15-7 overall record and a 10-1 mark against WWPA foes. The Lions earn their fourth straight No. 1 seed and look to defend their last four titles.

Earning the No. 2 seed in this year's tournament his host UC San Diego. The Tritons gave the top-seed Lions their lone loss in WWPA play and enter the tournament at 14-9 overall and 12-3 in the WWPA. Their only setbacks in WWPA play came to the Lions.

Wrapping up the top-four seeds in No. 3 Santa Clara and No. 4 UC Davis. The Broncos are 16-16 overall and went 7-5 against the WWPA. UC Davis is 20-10 overall and 11-4 in the WWPA. The Broncos get the No. 3 seed thanks to the 9-6 win at UC Davis on Oct. 9.

The top-four seeds earn a bye to the quarterfinals, which will be on Friday.

Getting the tournament started on Thursday will be No. 5 seed Air Force (8-16, 5-7) taking on No. 12 seed Occidental (7-22, 1-13) at 1:30 p.m. No. 6 Pomona-Pitzer (13-18, 8-6), winners of Sunday's SCIAC title, will take on No. 11 seed La Verne (6-25, 2-10) in game two at 3:00 p.m.

Game three will see No. 7 Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (15-11, 6-2) take on No. 10 Whittier (11-19, 4-10) at 4:30 p.m. Day one will end with No. 8 Redlands (16-17, 6-8) taking on No. 9 Chapman (13-13, 4-7) at 6 p.m. Action on Friday begins at 10:30 a.m.

For more information and to view the entire tournament schedule click here

The winner earns automatic bid to 2011 National Collegiate Men's Water Polo Championship hosted by Cal December 2-3.

Diversity and Inclusion