Photo by: Ken Grosse/UCSD Athletics
Donohoe scored 30 goals for the Tritons in 2011.
Brian Donohoe Earns Capital One Academic All-District Team Honor
Release: Thursday 05/17/2012 
LA JOLLA, Calif. - Brian Donohoe of the Western Water Polo Association champion UC San Diego men's water polo team was selected to the Capital One CoSIDA Academic All-District 8 Team, it was announced Thursday.

The teams, selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America, have been named to recognize the nation's top student‐athletes for their combined performances athletically and in the classroom. The All-District teams are divided into eight geographic districts in the United States and Canada.

Donohoe, a two-time honoree, earned ACWPC Division II All-America, ACWPC All-Academic honors, and the Elite 89 Award at the NCAA Championship earlier this school year. The Elite 89 Award is given to the participating player with the highest GPA at the NCAA Championship.
Donohoe, a junior, holds a 3.96 cumulative GPA in History at UCSD.

He played a key role in UCSD's first WWPA title since 2006, finishing second on the team with 35 assists and 28 steals while adding 30 goals. He was named All-WWPA Second Team, All-WWPA Tournament Second Team and All-NCAA Tournament Second Team in the process.

Donohoe is one of 10 student-athletes from the West Coast to earn the Academic All-District 8 distinction. The Academic All‐District honorees advance to the Capital One Academic All‐America Team ballot, where first-, second- and third‐team All‐America honorees will be selected later this month.

Diversity and Inclusion