Photo by: UCSD
Lizotte, Kreutzkamp Highlight ACWPC Honors
Release: Monday 06/16/2014 

LA JOLLA, Calif. – Sarah Lizotte was tabbed the NCAA Division II Player of the Year and Brad Kreutzkamp was named the Coach of the Year by the Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC), announced Monday.

Courtney Miller joined Lizotte on the All-America First Team, while Melissa Bartow and Jolene Guiliana were named to the All-America Second Team by the ACWPC.

Kreutzkamp was awarded the distinction for the third time in four years. He was previously named the NCAA Division II Coach of the Year in 2011 and 2013. Kreutzkamp led UCSD to a 27-13 campaign to mark a program record for wins in the NCAA era (since 2001). The Tritons made their third appearance at the NCAA Championship and won the WWPA title for the third time. UCSD was up to sixth nationally at one point during the regular season, which marked its highest ever ranking under Kreutzkamp, and finished at No. 12.

Lizotte earned her second straight Player of the Year honor and fourth straight All-America First Team accolade. The senior totaled 92 goals to tie the UCSD all-time single season record and dished out 56 assists in 2014. The Riverside native concluded her career as UCSD’s all-time leader in goals scored and assists.

Miller is now a two-time All-America First Team award winner at goalkeeper. The sophomore blocked 355 shots this season. The Honolulu, Hawaii native sits in second on the school’s all-time saves list at 729.

Bartow was honored for the second straight season by the ACWPC. The senior scored 46 goals and drew 54 ejections in 2014. The Walnut Creek native graduates as UCSD’s all-time leader in penalties and ejections drawn.

Guiliana earned her first career All-America distinction. The junior from Irvine totaled 73 scores, dished out 52 assists and grabbed 26 steals this season.

UCSD’s four student-athlete honorees mark the most of any NCAA Division II team.


WWP Triton Invite 2018