Photo by: Ken Grosse/UCSD Athletics
Brooke Campbell was part of the winning Varsity 4 crew.
Varsity 4 Wins as Tritons and Aztecs Take to Mission Bay
Release: Friday 04/15/2016 

SAN DIEGO - UC San Diego's Varsity 4 boat was a winner Friday as the women's rowing team went up against crosstown rival San Diego State in five races on Mission Bay.

In the V4 event, UCSD's crew was exactly 10 seconds faster than SDSU's, crossing the finish line with a winning time of 7:21.9. The Tritons' boat featured coxswain Tori Wong along with Catherine Mosher, Dora Klein, Brooke Campbell and Sydney McGuire.

The Aztecs overpowered the Tritons in the Varsity 8 race, winning in 6:20.9. UC San Diego came in at 6:35.0.

San Diego State also won the Second Varsity 8, Third Varsity 8/Fourth Varsity 8/Novice 8 and Novice 4 races.

UC San Diego is next in action at the Western Intercollegiate Rowing Association (WIRA) Championships, which take place April 30 and May 1 on Lake Natoma in Rancho Cordova, outside of Sacramento. Last season, the Tritons had three boats qualify for grand final races, with the JV8 placing second and the V8 and V4 crews taking third.

Varsity 8
1. San Diego State 6:20.9
2. UC San Diego 6:35.0

Second Varsity 8
1. San Diego State 6:35.8
2. UC San Diego 7:02.8

Third Varsity 8/Fourth Varsity 8/Novice 8
1. San Diego State 3V8 6:42.6
2. San Diego State 4V8 6:50.2
3. UC San Diego N8 7:04.6

Varsity 4
1. UC San Diego 7:21.9
2. San Diego State 7:31.9

Novice 4
1. San Diego State 7:24.4
2. UC San Diego 8:10.5


Boat Lineups
Varsity 8: Juliana Burns (cox), Madeleine Wagner, Jordan Levy, Alana Zaleski, Tonya Khounani, Amber Harris, Nicole Hammonds, Olivia Koyama, Kayla Larot

Second Varsity 8: Nicky Muehlhauser (cox), Shruti Kamath, Janell Ingersoll, Jennifer Dutton, Jaida Aikens, Courtney Breslow, Lauren Iannetta, Juliane Smith, Sarah Moore

Novice 8: Marie Kawahara (cox), Malia Mizuno, Isabela Martinez, Stephanie Solomon, Amanda Guilardi, Guinevere Keller, Evelyn Brady, Lea Martin, Maddie Juskie

Varsity 4: Tori Wong (cox), Catherine Mosher, Dora Klein, Brooke Campbell, Sydney McGuire

Novice 4: Lindsey Depledge (cox), Delaney Davey, Serina Babcock, Irene Yu, Nina Lundblad


Diversity and Inclusion