Photo by: Ken Grosse/UCSD Athletics
Tritons and Aztecs Clash For Patty Wyatt Trophy
Release: Friday 04/21/2017 

SAN DIEGO - Crews from the University of California San Diego and San Diego State women's rowing programs hit Mission Bay Friday morning to race for the Patty Wyatt Trophy, with the Aztecs taking home the prize.

The Varsity 8 event saw SDSU finish 13 seconds ahead of UC San Diego at 6:24. The Tritons crossed the line at 6:37.

The Second Varsity 8 had San Diego State take first with a time of 6:35, while UCSD was just two seconds behind at 6:37.

San Diego State also won the Third Varsity 8/Novice 8 race, posting a time of 7:00 to the Tritons' 7:26.

The Varsity 4 followed a similar story with SDSU taking the top spot in 7:20. UC San Diego followed in 7:41.

Rounding out the day's action, the Aztecs took first in the Second Varsity 4 event, winning in 7:41. The Tritons came in at 8:04. 

Scoring for the Patty Wyatt Trophy is based on the following point system: six points for Varsity Eight, four points for Second Varsity Eight, two points for Varsity Four and one point for Third Varsity Eight. The Second Varsity Four is a non-scoring race.

Wyatt, the late co-founder of the San Diego Crew Classic and former member and coach of the ZLAC Rowing Club, was instrumental in bringing the nation’s top collegiate crews to Mission Bay for the Crew Classic and in turn, helped create the most dramatic impact on the transformation of rowing at the collegiate level.

Up next, UC San Diego travels north to Rancho Cordova for the Western Intercollegiate Rowing Association (WIRA) Championships, April 29-30 on Lake Natoma.

Varsity 8
1. San Diego State 6:24
2. UC San Diego 6:37

Second Varsity 8
1. San Diego State 6:35
2. UC San Diego 6:53

Third Varsity 8/Novice 8
1. San Diego State 3V8 7:00
2. UC San Diego N8 7:26

Varsity 4
1. San Diego State 7:20
2. UC San Diego 7:41

Second Varsity 4
1. San Diego State 7:41
2. UC San Diego 8:04

Boat Lineups
Varsity 8: Marie Kawahara, Alana Zaleski, Sarah Moore, Brooke Campbell, Evelyn Brady, Tonya Khounani, Sydney McGuire, Catherine Mosher, Nicole Hammonds

Second Varsity 8: coxswain Amber Go, Stephanie Solomon, Lauren Iannetta, Madeleine Wagner, Jaida Aikens, Amber Harris, Audrey Ruttan, Malia Mizuno, Sierra Colvin

Novice 8: coxswain Sabrina Trinh, Caitlin Tribelhorn, Natalie Davoodi, Michelle Keung, Katie Nettesheim, Jessica Davis, Julia Madura, Jane Zanteson, Allison Patacsil

Varsity 4: coxswain Ryann Corpuz, Storrey Lance, Jordan Levy, Jennifer Dutton, Isabela Martinez

Second Varsity 4: coxswain Larissa Morse, Audrianna Chastain, Melanie Jaffe, Brianna Lehane and Nina Lundblad


Diversity and Inclusion