Photo by: Brock Scott/Scott Photo
The 2017 Tritons

UC San Diego Begins Quest for National Title Friday


LA JOLLA, Calif. - The University of California San Diego women's rowing team is in New Jersey for the NCAA Division II Championships and will begin its quest for a national title Friday.

The Tritons will field Varsity 8 and Varsity 4 crews at the championships, which will be held May 26-28 on Mercer Lake in West Windsor, N.J., just outside of Trenton.

"This team has fought all year long to get to this point," said UCSD head coach Colin Truex. "They worked harder and pushed harder to overcome adversity and inconsisent racing. They never stopped believing."

Joining UC San Diego (No. 7 national ranking) as full teams are Central Oklahoma (No. 2), Mercyhurst (No. 8), and Western Washington (No. 1). Barry (tied for No. 5) and Florida Tech (No. 3) will also be heading to New Jersey as at-large selections, fielding only a Varsity 8 and not eligible to win a national title.

The championships get underway with two three-crew Varsity 8 heats. The winners of each heat advance directly to the Grand Final, while the remaining four crews move on to a repechage race. The top two finishers in the repechage go to the Grand Final, while the next two go to the Petite Final.

The Varsity 4 starts with two two-crew heats with both winners moving directly to the Grand Final. The other two crews race in a repechage for the third and last Grand Final berth.

UC San Diego will take on Central Oklahoma and Florida Tech in its Varsity 8 heat and will face Mercyhurst in its Varsity 4 heat.

"It was a real team effort to get here," said Truex, in his fifth season leading the Tritons. "Every single person contributed in their own way. We couldn't be more proud or excited for this opportunity to race for a national championship."

UCSD is making its sixth appearance at the NCAA Division II Championships and first since 2013.  In 2006, 2007, and 2008, the Tritons were eligible for the national title after qualifying Varsity 8 and Varsity 4 boats. They finished as runner-up to Western Washington in 2007 and 2008. In 2005 and 2013, UCSD qualified a Varsity 8 crew.

Barry is the two-time defending national champion.

For complete championship information, including ticket pricing and purchase, please visit the official championship page.

All championship action can be followed with a live video stream at

UC San Diego Boat Lineups
Varsity 8:
coxswain Marie Kawahara, Alana Zaleski, Sarah Moore, Brooke Campbell, Evelyn Brady, Tonya Khounani, Sydney McGuire, Catherine Mosher, Nicole Hammonds

Varsity 4: coxswain Amber Go, Caitlin Tribelhorn, Jordan Levy, Storrey Lance, Sierra Colvin


Race Schedule
Varsity 8
Heat A - Friday, May 26, 8:24 a.m. (PT)
Western Washington

Heat B - Friday, May 26, 8:36 a.m. (PT)
Central Oklahoma
Florida Tech
UC San Diego

Repechage - Saturday, May 27, 7:36 a.m. (PT)

Petite Final (places 5-6) - Sunday, May 28, 6:36 a.m. (PT)

Grand Final (places 1-4) - Sunday, May 28, 6:48 a.m. (PT)

Varsity 4
Heat A - Friday, May 26, 8:48 a.m. (PT)
Western Washington
Central Oklahoma

Heat B - Friday, May 26, 9:00 a.m. (PT)
UC San Diego

Repechage - Saturday, May 27, 7:48 a.m. (PT)

Grand Final (places 1-3) - Sunday, May 28, 6:24 a.m. (PT)


NCAA Division II National Champion History
2016 - Barry
2015 - Barry
2014 - Humboldt State
2013 - Nova Southeastern
2012 - Humboldt State
2011 - Western Washington
2010 - Western Washington
2009 - Western Washington
2008 - Western Washington
2007 - Western Washington
2006 - Western Washington
2005 - Western Washington
2004 - Mercyhurst
2003 - UC Davis
2002 - UC Davis


UCSD at the National Championships
2013 - V8 3rd
2008 - V8 2nd, V4 2nd, team 2nd
2007 - V8 2nd, V4 2nd, team 2nd
2006 - V8 5th, V4 3rd, team 4th
2005 - V8 5th


More From UCSD
W Rowing