Photo by: UCSD

Day Two At NCAA Championships Sees Varsity 8 Move On To Petite Final


WEST WINDSOR, N.J. - The University of California San Diego women's rowing squad completed its second day of action at the NCAA Division II Championships on Lake Mercer Saturday morning.

In the Varsity 8 Repechage, Florida Tech logged a winning time of 6:49.001 to advance to Sunday's Grand Final. Coming in second and also qualifying for the Grand Final was Mercyhurst with a time of 6:50.295. Barry was just tenths of a second behind and took third at the 6:50.568 mark, while UC San Diego brought up the rear with a time of 6:54.115.

Barry and UCSD will compete in the Petite Final on Sunday. Florida Tech and Mercyhurst join Central Oklahoma and Western Washington in the Grand Final. UCO and WWU qualified for the main event by winning their heat races on Friday.

"The V8 had a great race," said UC San Diego head coach Colin Truex. "It was a battle and they fought hard. I am very proud because they left it all out there."

To start the race, all four boats kept a tight formation. At the 700-meter mark, Florida Tech led and was followed by Mercyhurst, UCSD, and Barry. The Tritons and Lakers were within a deck-length of each other.

The last 300 meters saw UC San Diego fall out of the pack into fourth, with Barry overtaking the Tritons and challenging Mercyhurst's second-place position. In this stretch, the Bucs surged and leveled out with Mercyhurst, continuing to stay on its heels until the finish line. Through all of this, the Panthers of Florida Tech remained firmly in the lead.

In the Varsity 4 Repechage, the Tritons went head-to-head with Central Oklahoma, with the third and final spot in the Grand Final on the line. UCO earned the berth by winning in 7:43.212, while the Tritons placed second in 7:48.327.

UC San Diego adopted an aggressive stance early and shot out of the starting line at 47 strokes per minute. Central Oklahoma responded with a more constant rate and leveled with UCSD at 250 meters.

At 500 meters, the Bronchos took the lead and increased their advantage to a boat length by the 1000-meter mark. A surge in the last 350 meters had the Tritons come to within six meters, but UCO held them off for the victory.

The Varsity 4 Grand Final will feature Central Oklahoma along with Mercyhurst and Western Washingtona.

UCSD is making its sixth appearance at the NCAA Division II Championships and first since 2013.  In 2006, 2007, and 2008, the Tritons were eligible for the national title after qualifying Varsity 8 and Varsity 4 boats. They finished as runner-up to Western Washington in 2007 and 2008. In 2005 and 2013, UCSD qualified a Varsity 8 crew.

Barry is the two-time defending national champion.

For complete championship information, please visit the official championship page.

All championship action can be followed with a live video stream at


Varsity 8: coxswain Marie Kawahara, Alana Zaleski, Sarah Moore, Brooke Campbell, Evelyn Brady, Tonya Khounani, Sydney McGuire, Catherine Mosher, Nicole Hammonds

Varsity 4: coxswain Amber Go, Caitlin Tribelhorn, Jordan Levy, Storrey Lance, Sierra Colvin


Varsity 8

Heat 1 - Friday
1. Western Washington 6:42.984
2. Mercyhurst 6:45.184
3. Barry 6:50.194

Heat 2 - Friday
1. Central Oklahoma 6:40.750
2. Florida Tech 6:42.257
3. UC San Diego 7:00.203

Repechage - Saturday
1. Florida Tech 6:49.001
2. Mercyhurst 6:50.295
3. Barry 6:50.568
4. UC San Diego 6:54.115

Petite Final - Sunday, May 28, 6:36 a.m. (PT)
1. UC San Diego
2. Barry

Grand Final - Sunday, May 28, 6:48 a.m. (PT)
1. Central Oklahoma
2. Western Washington
3. Florida Tech
4. Mercyhurst

Varsity 4
Heat 1 - Friday
1. Western Washington 7:39.344
2. Central Oklahoma 7:53.064

Heat 2 - Friday
1. Mercyhurst 7:39.335
2. UC San Diego 7:46.928

Repechage - Saturday
1. Central Oklahoma 7:43.212
2. UC San Diego 7:48.327

Grand Final (places 1-3) - Sunday, May 28, 6:24 a.m. (PT)
1. Mercyhurst
2. Western Washington
3. Central Oklahoma


2016 - Barry
2015 - Barry
2014 - Humboldt State
2013 - Nova Southeastern
2012 - Humboldt State
2011 - Western Washington
2010 - Western Washington
2009 - Western Washington
2008 - Western Washington
2007 - Western Washington
2006 - Western Washington
2005 - Western Washington
2004 - Mercyhurst
2003 - UC Davis
2002 - UC Davis


2017 - V4 4th
2013 - V8 3rd
2008 - V8 2nd, V4 2nd, team 2nd
2007 - V8 2nd, V4 2nd, team 2nd
2006 - V8 5th, V4 3rd, team 4th
2005 - V8 5th


More From UCSD
W Rowing