Photo by: UCSD
UC San Diego's Varsity 8

Varsity 8 Cruises Into Grand Final At San Diego Crew Classic


SAN DIEGO - Posting the best time of the day, the University of California San Diego's Varsity 8 crew punched its ticket into the Grand Final Saturday at the 45th San Diego Crew Classic on Mission Bay.

In heat two of the DII/DIII/Club V8 division, UC San Diego crossed the finish line with a winning time of 7:16.042 over 2000 meters, almost two seconds in front of Purdue (7:17.643). Seattle Pacific (7:21.137) placed third and the University of California lightweight crew (7:29.354) was fourth.

The Varsity 8 was coxswain Juni Kim, Brooke Campbell, Tonya Khounani, Kyley Jones, Sydney McGuire, Catherine Mosher, Jane Zanteson, Alana Zaleski, and Audrey Ruttan.

The Tritons' time was just under 10 seconds faster than Grand Valley's first-place time of 7:26:025 in heat one.

"It was a good first race for the Varsity 8," said UCSD head coach Colin Truex. "They were able to hold off strong pushes from Purdue and Seattle Pacific and win the heat without rowing their best race."

In Sunday's Grand Final, UCSD will be up against Grand Valley, Purdue, UC Davis, Seattle Pacific, and the University of Calgary Rowing Club.

"It's a new day tomorrow and they need to build on today's performance and have an even better race in the Grand Final," said Truex.

The Tritons will have four other boats in action as well Sunday including Open 8, Novice 8, Varsity 4, and Second Varsity 4. All four events are finals-only with no qualifying heat races.

Saturday, March 24
DII/DIII/Club Varsity 8 Heat 2
1. UC San Diego 7:16.042
2. Purdue 7:17.643
3. Seattle Pacific 7:21.137
4. California Lightweight 7:29.354

Sunday, March 25
DII/DIII/Club Varsity 8 Grand Final - 8:40 a.m.
UC San Diego
Grand Valley
UC Davis
Seattle Pacific
University of Calgary Rowing Club

DII/DIII/Club Varsity 4+ Final - 11:48 a.m.
UC San Diego "A"
Seattle Pacific
UC Davis
University of Calgary Rowing Club
UC San Diego "B"

DII/DIII/Club Novice 8 Final - 11:56 a.m.
UC San Diego
UC Santa Barbara
Orange Coast College
UC Davis
California Lightweight

Open 8 Carley Copley Cup Final - 2:08 p.m.
Stanford Lightweight
San Diego State
Kansas State
UC San Diego
UC Santa Barbara

Boat Lineups
Varsity 8: coxswain Juni Kim, Brooke Campbell, Tonya Khounani, Kyley Jones, Sydney McGuire, Catherine Mosher, Jane Zanteson, Alana Zaleski, Audrey Ruttan
Open 8:
coxswain Allison Patacsil, Madeleine Wagner, Evelyn Brady, Ellie Westbrock, Olivia Koyama, Malia Mizuno, Defne Sevil, Kiana Killian, Melanie Jaffe
Novice 8:
coxswain Maile Heyer, Morgan Stark, Kaili Inouye, Geraldine Wambersie, Sarah Proctor, Scotlyn Macdonald, Taryn Geivet, Devin Gaetje, Larissa Morse
Varsity 4: coxswain Marie Kawahara, Caitlin Tribelhorn, Isabela Martinez, Storrey Lance, Taylor Iantosca
Second Varsity 4: coxswain Allison Patacsil, Brianna Lehane, Cassidy Paradis, Iulia Rusu, Nina Lundblad


More From UCSD
W Rowing