Photo by: Ken Grosse/UCSD Athletics
Tritons Advance Three Crews to Grand Finals on First Day of WIRA Championships
Release: Saturday 04/30/2016 

RANCHO CORDOVA, Calif. - The UC San Diego men's rowing squad advanced all three of its boats to grand finals as the 2016 Western Intercollegiate Rowing Association (WIRA) Championships kicked off Saturday on Lake Natoma.

UCSD's Second Varsity 8 won its heat with a time of 6:29.8, almost 10 seconds faster than second-place Santa Clara. UC Santa Barbara's "B" boat was third, Washington State placed fourth, UC Irvine took fifth and Lewis & Clark was sixth.

The Tritons' "B" crew was second in its Second Varsity 8 heat, coming in at 6:38.7. UCSB "A" won in 6:25.0. UCLA was third, followed by San Diego State and UC Davis. The Tritons' time was the third-fastest of the 11 boats across the two heats.

In its Novice 8 heat race, UC San Diego was third, crossing the finish line in 6:35.3. Santa Clara won it in 6:28.6 and UCSB was second in 6:33.3. The Tritons came in ahead of Oregon, Chico State, Long Beach State and Sonoma State.

Due to high winds, the Varsity 8 heats were postponed until Sunday. The Tritons will race at 8:50 a.m. in heat three against Orange Coast College, Puget Sound, Sonoma State and UCLA. The V8 finals are slated to start at 1:00 p.m.

The Novice 8 grand final runs at 11:20 a.m. Sunday and will be followed by the Second Varsity 8 grand final at noon.

Saturday Results
Novice 8 Heat 1
1.Santa Clara 6:28.6
2. UC Santa Barbara 6:33.3
3. UC San Diego 6:35.3
4. Oregon 6:46.1
5. Chico State 6:46.7
6. Long Beach State 6:49.7
7. Sonoma State 6:507

Second Varsity 8 Heat 1
1. UC Santa Barbara "A" 6:25.0
2. UC San Diego "B" 6:38.7
3. UCLA 6:46.5
4. San Diego State 6:53.5
5. UC Davis 7:01.1

Second Varsity 8 Heat 2
1. UC San Diego "A" 6:29.8
2. Santa Clara 6:39.2
3. UC Santa Barbara "B" 6:40.5
4. Washington State 6:43.2
5. UC Irvine 7:04.6
6. Lewis & Clark 7:19.0

Sunday Schedule
8:50 a.m. - Varsity 8 Heat 3
11:20 a.m. - Novice 8 Grand Final
12:00 p.m. - Second Varsity 8 Grand Final
1:00 p.m - Varsity 8 Third Final
1:10 p.m - Varsity 8 Petite Final
1:20 p.m - Varsity 8 Grand Final

Boat Lineups
Varsity 8: Isa Batki (cox), Sean Callaghan, Tynan Rodger, Scott Kennedy, Anton Hedayat, Gibb Anella, John Buda, Hank Wong, Alec Petty

Second Varsity 8: Lily Ouyang (cox), Kevin Chang, Matt Thalken, Sam Calvert, Gabriel Lane, Carson West, Jason Germain, Nick Baltar, Micah Adelsohn

Third Varsity 8: Alex Mendez (cox), Aaron Rothleder, Anthony Chivetta, Bryan Brennan, Dexter Hekking, Stephan Zimmerman, Robert Faris, Sam Merrill-Palethorpe, Jackson Lytle

Novice 8: Rina Patel (cox), Matt Kaloroumakis, Adrian Dinescu, Spencer Hager, Keith Mielke, Greg Coffman, Nathan Bayardo, Victor De Cos, Skyler Taylor


Friday, June 29
M Rowing at Henley Royal Regatta Qualifying
All Day
Henley on Thames, UK
Wednesday, July 04
M Rowing at Henley Royal Regatta
All Day
Henley on Thames, UK
Diversity and Inclusion