stop
Photo by: Andy Wilhelm
Oshita is the second Triton to earn the conference award this season.
Christian Oshita is the CCAA Men's Basketball Player of the Week
Release: Tuesday 01/02/2018 
by UCSD

SAN RAMON, Calif. - University of California San Diego student-athlete Christian Oshita has been named the California Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) Men's Basketball Player of the Week. The conference announced its selections Tuesday.

Oshita helped UC San Diego to a pair of key league victories this past week. Over the two games, the junior guard/forward averaged 19.5 points and 6.0 rebounds and netted seven three-pointers, all team-bests. He shot .536 overall and .500 from behind the arc.

In a 71-60 home victory against San Francisco State, Oshita totaled a game-high 19 points with five rebounds, two assists, and two steals. Two days later on the road at Stanislaus State, he produced a game-high 20 points to go along with a team-best seven rebounds as the Tritons defeated the Warriors by a score of 70-58. Oshita made four of his seven three-point attempts in the game.

The two wins vaulted UCSD from sixth to fourth in the CCAA standings.

It is the first career CCAA Player of the Week award for Oshita. He is the second Triton to win the accolade this season as junior guard Christian Bayne earned the honor on Nov. 28.

UC San Diego (8-5, 5-2 CCAA) hosts two conference games this week. Humboldt State (5-9, 2-6 CCAA) visits RIMAC Arena on Friday, Jan. 5, while Chico State (9-3, 6-2 CCAA) is in town on Saturday, Jan. 6. Both contests tip at 7:30 p.m. UCSD students are admitted free.

#BigWestBound

Friday, November 09
Men's Basketball at Cal State Dominguez Hills vs. Western Washington
5:30 PM
UC San Diego (RIMAC Arena)
Men's Basketball vs. Simon Fraser
7:30 PM
UC San Diego (RIMAC Arena)
Saturday, November 10
Men's Basketball at Cal State Dominguez Hills vs. Simon Fraser
5:30 PM
UC San Diego (RIMAC Arena)
Men's Basketball vs. Western Washington
7:30 PM
UC San Diego (RIMAC Arena)
Monday, November 12
Men's Basketball vs. Saint Martin's
7:00 PM
UC San Diego (RIMAC Arena)
Wednesday, November 14
Men's Basketball at Point Loma Nazarene University
7:00 PM
San Diego (Golden Gymnasium)
Tuesday, November 20
Men's Basketball vs. Cal State San Bernardino
7:00 PM
UC San Diego (RIMAC Arena)
Saturday, November 24
Men's Basketball vs. Chico State
7:30 PM
UC San Diego (RIMAC Arena)
Thursday, November 29
Men's Basketball at Cal State Monterey Bay
7:30 PM
Seaside (The Kelp Bed)
Saturday, December 01
Men's Basketball at Cal State San Marcos
3:00 PM
San Marcos (The Sports Center)
Thursday, December 06
Men's Basketball vs. San Francisco State University
7:30 PM
UC San Diego (RIMAC Arena)
Sunday, December 16
Men's Basketball at Hawaii Pacific
11:00 PM
Honolulu, Hawai'i (Hawai'i Convention Center)
Monday, December 17
Men's Basketball at TBA
TBA
Honolulu, Hawai'i (Hawai'i Convention Center)
Tuesday, December 18
Men's Basketball at TBA
TBA
Honolulu, Hawai'i (Hawai'i Convention Center)
Saturday, December 29
Men's Basketball vs. Humboldt State
7:30 PM
UC San Diego (RIMAC Arena)
MBB Casino Night