Photo by: Andy Wilhelm
Head coach Heidi VanDerveer was named WBCA Region 8 Coach of the Year.

Heidi VanDerveer Named WBCA Region 8 Coach of the Year


Related Links

ATLANTA — University of California San Diego women’s basketball head coach Heidi VanDerveer has been named United States Marine Corps/Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) Division II Region 8 Coach of the Year, the association recently announced.

VanDerveer led the Tritons to a 28-5 overall record this season en route an appearance in the NCAA Division II West Region Semifinals. In addition, UC San Diego won the California Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) regular-season championship for the third-consecutive season, with VanDerveer earning CCAA Coach of the Year honors for the third-straight year.

In her sixth season at the helm, VanDerveer has amassed a 133-49 (.731) overall record. Even more impressive, the Tritons are 77-17 (.819) in the last three seasons under VanDerveer’s leadership.

A College of Charleston alum, VanDerveer has a dominant 102-26 (.797) record in CCAA play as head coach of UC San Diego. In 2017-18, VanDerveer molded senior forward Dalayna Sampton into the CCAA Player of the Year and WBCA All-America Honorable Mention, while also helping sophomore forward Mikayla Williams become an All-CCAA First-Team selection.

Founded in 1981, the WBCA is the professional association for coaches of women’s and girls’ basketball at all levels of competition. The WBCA offers educational resources that coaches need to help make themselves better leaders, teachers and mentors to their players; provides opportunities for coaches to connect with peers in the profession; serves as the unifying voice of a diverse community of coaches to the organizations that control the game; and celebrates those coaches, players and other individuals who excel each year and contribute to the advancement of the sport.

WBCA Division II Coach of the Year
Robyn Fralick, Ashland

WBCA Division II Regional Coaches of the Year
Region 1 — Trisha Brown, Stonehill College
Region 2 — Stan Swank, Edinboro
Region 3 — Michael Mincey, Carson-Newman
Region 4 — Robyn Fralick, Ashland
Region 5 — Mark Campbell, Union
Region 6 — Steve Gomez, Lubbock Christian
Region 7 — David Slifer, Central Missouri
Region 8 — Heidi VanDerveer, UC San Diego


More From UCSD
W Basketball