Photo by: UCSD
Juniors Kelsi Maday and Kendall Baker.

Maday and Baker Earn All-CCAA Honors


Related Links

SAN RAMON, Calif. -  Juniors Kelsi Maday and Kendall Baker from the University of California San Diego softball team were placed on the California Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) All-Conference team, announced Friday at the 2017 Softball Championship brunch in Stockton. Maday took home first team honors, while Baker received second team distinction.

Maday collected her second All-CCAA honor after being named to the first team in 2016. The outfielder topped the conference in sacrifice flies (5) and finished second in batting average (.395), doubles (13), and stolen bases (42).

The Napa product started all 52 games in centerfield and became UCSD's all-time single season and career leader in steals with 42 for the season and 94 in her three years as a Triton. She paced the roster in runs (44) and RBI (37) while boasting a team-best .468 on base percentage.

A native of Berthoud, Colorado, Baker picked up her second All-CCAA honor after collecting second team recognition in 2015. She split time between second base and the outfield and led UCSD with 66 hits, three triples and 186 at bats. She started all 52 games and had 11 RBI to go along with a .355 batting average.

Baker finished second on the team and fourth in the CCAA with 36 stolen bases, good for second all-time in a single season for UCSD. She paced the Tritons' in runs with 43, putting her fifth all-time for a single season.

UC San Diego finished the regular season 30-22 overall and 21-19 in the CCAA. UCSD is 10th in the most recent NCAA West Region poll, and needs to be in the top eight come NCAA selection time on Monday, May 8 to advance to the NCAA Regional Championships.


First Team
Haley Gilham, Chico State
Cassandra Williams ,Cal State San Bernardino
Jessica Brown, Cal State San Bernardino
Madison Casto, Cal State Monterey Bay
Courtney Hennings, Cal State Monterey Bay
Julia Garcia, Cal State Monterey Bay
Jayme Stark, Cal State Monterey Bay
Kelsi Maday, UC San Diego
Ari Marsh, Chico State
Morgan Ratliff, Cal State San Bernardino
Mikal Cuellar, Cal State Monterey Bay
Kalyn Paque, Humboldt State
Kristin Worley, Chico State
Hayley Fein, Cal State Monterey Bay
Sarah Fukushima, Cal State East Bay
Anneliese Lopez, Cal State Monterey Bay

Second Team
Madison Williams, Humboldt State
Abby Greer, Cal State East Bay
Breonna Bajaran, Humboldt State
Ali Cerminara, Cal State East Bay
Karly Macadangdang, Sonoma State
Jenny Collazo, Sonoma State
Lyzette Reveles, Cal State Dominguez Hills
Alexus Martinez, Stanislaus State
Cassidy Duke, Stanislaus State
Winona Vigil, Humboldt State
Nicolette Vizcaino, Stanisalus State
Jordann White, Sonoma State
Brooke Thomas, Cal State San Bernardino
Megan Clark, San Francisco State
Kendall Baker, UC San Diego
Lindsey Calcany-Blair ,Sonoma State
Jazmine Guzman, Cal State Dominguez Hills

Pitcher of the Year: Haley Gilham, Chico State
Player of the Year: Julia Garcia, Cal State Monterey Bay
Newcomer of the Year: Julia Garcia, Cal State Monterey Bay
Freshman of the Year: Hayley Fein, Cal State Monterey Bay
Coach of the Year: Andrea Kenney, Cal State Monterey Bay


More From UCSD