Photo by: UCSD
From L to R: Arman Momdzhyan, Skyler Munatones, Jack Turner, Cole Martinez, Nick Alexander and Andy Moore.
Five Tritons Earn All-WWPA Honors; Munatones Named Freshman of the Year
Release: Tuesday 11/15/2016 

DAVIS, Calif. - The University of California San Diego men's water polo team had a total of six players honored by the Western Water Polo Association (WWPA). Junior utility Arman Momdzhyan, senior utility Nick Alexander, sophomore utility Cole Martinez (San Diego/La Jolla HS), senior utility Andy Moore and sophomore goalie Jack Turner were named All-WWPA. Utility Skyler Munatones was named the WWPA Freshman of the Year.

Momdzhyan was placed on the first team after scoring a team-leading 34 goals in his first year as a Triton. Alexander was awarded his second straight All-WWPA Second Team honor after recording 19 goals and 42 assists. The 42 assists is the top mark on the team and third in the conference.

Martinez, Moore and Turner received All-WWPA Honorable Mention accolades. Martinez has 11 goals, four assists and 12 steal, and Moore has 16 goals, 19 assists and 23 steals on the year. Turner controls things inside the cage and has recorded 194 saves, 24 steals and 16 assists thus far.

Munatones was named the WWPA All-Freshman and Freshman of the Year after a stellar debut season. He is second on the team in both goals and assists with 27 and 23, respectively, and also has 10 steals.

The Tritons will begin postseason play at the WWPA Championship, hosted by Santa Clara, starting Friday, Nov. 18, against Fresno Pacific at 10:30 a.m. The winner of the tournament will receive the conference's automatic bid to the 2016 NCAA Championship.

2016 Western Water Polo Association Men's Water Polo Honors
Player of the Year:                            Ido Goldschmidt - UC Davis (Attacker, So.)
Freshman of the Year:                      Skyler Munatones - UC San Diego (Utility)

First-Team WWPA All-Conference
Sasa Antunovic - UC Davis (Utility, So.)
Ido Goldschmidt - UC Davis (Attacker, So.)
Dayne Jagga - Loyola Marymount (Center, So.)
Arman Momdzhyan - UC San Diego (Utility, Jr.)
Brent Teraoka - Cal Baptist (Driver, Sr.)
Riley Thomas - Air Force (Utility, Jr.)
Joseph Moorman - Cal Baptist (Goalkeeper, Sr.)

Second-Team WWPA All-Conference
Nick Alexander - UC San Diego (Utility, Sr.)
Marcus Anderson - UC Davis (Attacker, So.)
Jon Beck - Loyola Marymount (Utility, Sr.)
Graham McClone - Santa Clara (Driver, Sr.)
David Maes - Fresno Pacific (Driver, Sr.)
Tanner Shore - Cal Baptist (Utility, So.)
Spencer Creed - UC Davis (Goalkeeper, Jr.)

Honorable Mention All-Conference
Daniel Arellano - Loyola Marymount (Attacker, So.)
Alex Athimaritis - Loyola Marymount (Utility, Fr.)
Mac Carey - Santa Clara (Utility, Fr.)
Eric Curia - Air Force (Utility, Sr.)
Cory Laidig - UC Davis (Attacker, Jr.)
Cole Martinez - UC San Diego (Utility, So.)
Andy Moore - UC San Diego (Utility, Sr.)
Jack Turner - UC San Diego (Goalkeeper, So.)

WWPA All-Freshman Team
Luke Andres - Air Force (Attacker)
Alex Athimaritis - Loyola Marymount (Utility)
Mac Carey - Santa Clara (Utility)
Yurii Hanley - UC Davis (Attacker)
Logan Mena - Cal Baptist (2-Meters)
Skyler Munatones - UC San Diego (Utility)
Keaton Fox - Santa Clara (Goalkeeper)


Diversity and Inclusion