Photo by: Derrick Tuskan
The Tritons will be the No. 1 seed this weekend's WWPA Championship.

Tritons Earn No. 1 Seed in This Weekend's WWPA Championship

UC San Diego

Related Links

OAKLAND — The University of California San Diego women’s water polo team has earned the No. 1 seed in the 2019 Western Water Polo Association (WWPA) Championship, held April 26-28 at the SPIRE Institute in Geneva, Ohio.

UC San Diego (18-13, 4-0 WWPA) opens tournament play with a quarterfinal matchup on Friday, April 26, beginning at 3 p.m. ET/12 p.m. PT. The Tritons will face the winner of Friday morning’s first-round contest between No. 8 Cal State Monterey Bay and No. 9 Mercyhurst. 

With a win, UC San Diego would advance to the tournament semifinals on Saturday, April 27 at 9 a.m. PT. The championship game is scheduled for Sunday, April 28, at 9:30 a.m. PT.

Winners of six-consecutive WWPA Championships, UC San Diego has won 42-consecutive WWPA contests dating back to the 2012 WWPA Championship final against Loyola Marymount. This will be the Tritons' final WWPA Championship tournament before transitioning to the Big West Conference in the spring of 2020.

The Tritons enter the 2019 WWPA Championship winning eight of their last nine games, and are coming off a thrilling Harper Cup victory against cross-town foe No. 17 San Diego State, 9-5. 

Sophomore goalkeeper Bennett Bugelli was named Harper Cup MVP after recording a career-high 14 saves and allowing just one goal in the first half. Senior Chanel Schilling had two goals, while sophomore Grace Pevehouse also scored twice and leads UC San Diego for total goals this season (52).

2019 WWPA Tournament Seeding
1. UC San Diego (18-13, 4-0)
2. Fresno Pacific (8-19, 3-1)
3. Cal State East Bay (13-14, 2-2)
4. Gannon (7-14, 3-0)
5. Sonoma State (7-14, 1-3)
6. Salem (13-12, 2-1)
7. McKendree (11-13, 1-2)
8. Cal State Monterey Bay (7-16, 0-4)
9. Mercyhurst (6-16, 0-3)

Tournament Schedule
Friday, April 26
Game 1: No. 8 Cal State Monterey Bay vs No. 9 Mercyhurst, 9 AM ET / 6 AM PT
Game 2: No. 4 Gannon vs No. 5 Sonoma State, 10:30 AM ET / 7:30 AM PT
Game 3: No. 3 Cal State East Bay vs. No. 6 Salem, 12 PM ET / 9 AM PT
Game 4: No. 2 Fresno Pacific vs No. 7 McKendree, 1:30 PM ET / 10:30 AM PT
Game 5: No. 1 UC San Diego vs Winner Game 1, 3 PM ET / 12 PM PT

Saturday, April 27
Game 6: Loser Game 4 vs Loser Game 1, 9 AM ET / 6 AM PT
Game 7: Winner Game 4  vs Winner Game 3, 10:30 AM ET / 7:30 AM PT
Game 8: Winner Game 5 vs Winner Game 2, 12 PM ET / 9 AM PT
Game 9: Loser Game 2 vs Loser Game 5, 1:30 PM ET / 10:30 AM PT
Game 10: Loser Game 3 vs Winner Game 6, 3 PM ET / 12 PM PT

Sunday, April 28
Game 11: Loser Game 9 vs Loser Game 10 (7th Place), 8 AM ET / 5 PM PT
Game 12: Winner Game 9 vs Winner Game 10 (5th Place), 9:30 AM ET / 6:30 AM PT
Game 13: Loser Game 7 vs Loser Game 8 (3rd Place), 11 AM ET / 8 AM PT
Game 14: Winner Game 7 vs Winner Game 8 (Championship), 12:30 PM ET / 9:30 AM PT

About UC San Diego Athletics
With 30 national team championships, nearly 150 individual titles and the top student-athlete graduation rate among Division II institutions in the United States, the UC San Diego intercollegiate athletics program annually ranks as one of the most successful in the country.  The Tritons sponsor 23 intercollegiate sport programs that compete on the NCAA Division I and II levels and, in summer 2020, will transition into full Division I status as a member of the Big West Conference.  UC San Diego student-athletes exemplify the academic ideals of one of the world's preeminent institutions, graduating at an average rate of 91 percent.  A total of 80 Tritons have earned Academic All-America honors, while 36 have earned prestigious NCAA Post Graduate Scholarships.  In competition, more than 1,300 UC San Diego student-athletes have earned All-America honors.

Follow The Tritons
For complete coverage and information regarding UC San Diego Athletics, follow the Tritons online at UCSDtritons.com and through social media on Twitter (@ucsdtritons), Instagram (@ucsdtritons) and Facebook (ucsdtritons). In addition, you can follow UC San Diego women's water polo on Twitter (@ucsdwwp) and on Instagram (@ucsdwwp).

 

 

 

 

            

 

 

More From UCSD
W Water Polo