Photo by: UCSD
Amelia Harrison, Katie Hallsten and Taly Yukelson took bronze in Team Epee.
Tritons Take on Top Competition at North American Cup
Release: Monday 01/09/2017 

COLUMBUS, Ohio - The University of California San Diego fencing team opened the new year taking on some of the nation's best at the North American Cup, hosted by Ohio State University Friday through Monday.

The UC San Diego women won bronze in the Senior Team Epee event, placing third of eight teams. On the squad for the Tritons were sophomore Katie Hallsten, freshman Amelia Harrison and freshman Taly Yukelson.

Yukelson also collected the best individual finish for the women, tying for 36th in a field of 162 fencers in Division I Epee.

Sophomore Lillian Chu was 65th of 143 in Junior Saber and Harrison was 78th of 145 in Junior Epee.

On the men's side, junior David Hadler posted a top-20 finish, placing 19th of 237 competitors in Division I Foil. Sophomore Thejas Gulati was 21st of 177 in Division I Saber and senior Paul Datta was UCSD's top finisher in Division I Epee, taking 53rd in a large field of 311.

In Junior Division events, freshman Dillon Cooke finished 22nd of 206 in foil. Classmate Alexandre Leonelli took 53rd of 180 in Junior Saber and sophomore Scott Phillips was 57th of 226 in Junior Epee.

UCSD's best finish in men's team competition was a fourth among a Senior Foil contingent of eight. Fencing for the Tritons were Cooke, Hadler, sophomore Brian Howard and senior Mitchell Shulman.

Other top programs represented in Columbus included Columbia, Cornell, Notre Dame, Ohio State, Penn, Penn State, Princeton and St. John's.

UC San Diego is next in action on Jan. 15 at the West Invitational in Pasadena.

Division I Epee
(311 competitors)
53. Paul Datta
85. Alex Okamoto
T-118. Scott Phillips
214. Sean Callaghan
297. Gerard Heng

Division I Foil (237 competitors)
19. David Hadler
55. Dillon Cooke
87. Misheel Boldbaatar
142. Zuhril Megat Zariman
175. Brian Howard
T-184. Nicholas Phan
T-195. Warren Chen
T-201. Mitchell Shulman

Division I Saber (177 competitors)
21. Thejas Gulati
107. Evan George
129. Alexandre Leonelli

Junior Epee (226 competitors)
57. Scott Phillips

Junior Foil (206 competitors)
22. Dillon Cooke
146. Misheel Boldbaatar
189. Brian Howard

Junior Saber (180 competitors)
53. Alexandre Leonelli
59. Evan George

Senior Team Epee (35 teams)
28. UC San Diego (Sean Callaghan, Paul Datta, Gerard Heng, Alex Okamoto)

Senior Team Foil (12 teams)
4. UC San Diego A (Dillon Cooke, David Hadler, Brian Howard, Mitchell Shulman)
7. UC San Diego B (Misheel Boldbaatar, Warren Chen, Zuhril Megat Zariman, Nicholas Phan)

Senior Team Saber (9 teams)
5. UC San Diego (Evan George, Thejas Gulati, Alexandre Leonelli)


Division I Epee
(162 competitors)
T-36. Taly Yukelson
122. Amelia Harrison
134. Katie Hallsten

Division I Foil
(166 competitors)
T-149. Caitlyn Callaghan

Division I Saber (137 competitors)
106. Lillian Chu

Junior Epee (145 competitors)
78. Amelia Harrison
122. Taly Yukelson

Junior Foil (147 competitors)
T-139. Caitlyn Callaghan

Junior Saber (143 competitors)
65. Lillian Chu

Senior Team Epee (8 teams)
3. UC San Diego (Katie Hallsten, Amelia Harrison, Taly Yukelson)


Diversity and Inclusion